FR / EN

Joel-Peter Witkin

Official exhibition pavilion A

« When Joel-Peter Witkin meets Picasso » 


In collaboration with the Centre d'art La CHAPELLE and the exhibition
Joel-Peter Witkin, "The Mythologies of gods and men "
Exhibition from September 14th, 2019 till January 26th, 2020



From the 14th of September 2019 to the 26th January 2020, the Art Center La Chapelle will celebrate the 80 years of Joel-Peter Witkin with an exhibition themed around “the mythologies of gods and men”. With this is in mind we still wanted to further this homage during the fair « Art Elysées », which is the perfect context to highlight the modernity of his work, particularly when brought closer to the likes of Pablo Picasso.

 

Indeed, Joel-Peter Witkin has often inspired himself from the great masters in his work and often revisited the history of art. Hence why we believe there are interesting points and parallels to be highlighted between his and Picasso’s artistic work. Through a selection of paper works, ceramics and photographs, we will show the echoes of Pablo Picasso’s work present in Joel-Peter Witkin.







As a master of cubism and surrealism, Pablo Picasso often said that he was looking for “resemblance, the most profound resemblance, more real than real, reaching the surreal”.

This very much fits the work of Joel-Peter Witkin. Both artists create their own mythology by incorporating different iconographical sources such as the corrida, deformed bodies, the circus, the minotaur or crucifixion, as to paint the monstrosities of life, the horror of war or the complexity of their personal life. We find in their craft the same obsession with desire, passion and death. Similarly, myths and legends are used and reinterpreted with as much imagination and metaphors. There is in Witkin’s style of drawing and composing a resonance with Picasso’s etchings such as Dans l’atelier, 1963 or l’Etreinte, 1933 as well as the intensity of his paintings. Was there not in Picasso’s works a similar violence of attitude, this art of provocation, the representation of distorted bodies and mythical beasts like the minotaur, associating impulses of life and death? As those themes strongly take hold in some of Witkin’s works we have selected for this fair.





Located on the forestry Rambouillet heights, the Chapelle Art Center is part of the architectural and cultural heritage of the Yvelines department. Entirely dedicated to the cultural and educational creation, this institution integrates exhibition and special events (movies, theater, concerts ...), a place of residence and professional training, a documentation center of art books, as well as a modern and contemporary sculpture park. La Chapelle aims to make the arts dialogue and make them accessible to the greatest number of people through transversal themes such as the current exhibition "Paysages" bringing together photographs, paintings and contemporary installations, as well as more specific ones like the sculptor André Barelier recently, or Joel-Peter Witkin at the beginning of September.

 

Joel-Peter Witkin, "Mythologies of gods and men"
Exhibition from September 14th, 2019 till January 26th, 2020



LA CHAPELLE
Impasse de l’Abbaye
78120 Clairefontaine-en-Yvelines
www.lachapelledeclairefontaine.org

Press contact : Fabienne Besnard
+33 (01) 42 72 09 10
f.besnard@baudoin-lebon.com

FR / EN

Joel-Peter Witkin

Exposition officielle pavillon A

« Joel-Peter Witkin en visite chez Picasso » 


En collaboration avec le Centre d'art La CHAPELLE et l'exposition
Joel-Peter Witkin, "Mythologies des dieux et des hommes "
Commissariat: Caroline Lescure
Exposition du 14 septembre 2019 au 26 janvier 2020



A l’occasion des 80 ans du photographe américain Joel-Peter Witkin, le Centre d’art La Chapelle présente du 14 septembre 2019 au 26 janvier 2020 : « Mythologies des dieux et des hommes ». Dans la continuité de cette exposition le centre d’art lui rend hommage lors de la foire Art Elysées en présentant son travail sur le thème « Joel-Peter Witkin en visite chez Picasso », thème résolument moderne s’inscrivant, dans la ligne artistique de la foire Art Elysées.

En effet, si Joel-Peter Witkin s’est souvent inspiré des maîtres anciens et aime revisiter l’histoire de l’art, il y a dans l’univers de ces deux artistes, des parallèles qui nous semblent intéressants de faire découvrir ou redécouvrir. A travers une sélection d’œuvres sur papiers, de céramiques et de photographies, nous montrerons les échos de l’œuvre de Pablo Picasso dans celle de Joel-Peter Witkin. 





Pablo Picasso, maître du cubisme et du surréalisme disait qu’il cherchait « la ressemblance, une ressemblance plus profonde, plus réelle que le réel, atteignant le surréel ». 

On peut rattacher ces mots au travail de Joel-Peter Witkin. Tous les deux créent leur propre mythologie en fusionnant différentes sources iconographiques telles la corrida, les corps déformés, le cirque, le minotaure ou la crucifixion, pour y dépeindre les monstruosités de la vie, l’horreur de la guerre ou la complexité de leur vie personnelle. On retrouve chez eux la même obsession du désir, de la passion et de la mort. Les mythes sont utilisés et réinterprétés avec autant de métaphores et d’imagination. Il y a dans la manière de dessiner et de composer de Witkin un écho aux estampes et dessins de Picasso comme  Dans l’atelier, 1963,  ou encore L’Etreinte, 1933 mais aussi à l’intensité de sa peinture.  N’y avait-il pas dans les œuvres de Picasso cette même violence des attitudes, cet art de la provocation, la représentation des distorsions des corps et ce minotaure, réunissant les pulsions de vie et de mort, que l’on retrouve dans certaines œuvres de notre sélection ?  




Située sur les plateaux forestiers de Rambouillet, la Chapelle centre d’art, fait partie du patrimoine architectural et culturel du département des Yvelines. Entièrement dédiée à la création culturelle et à la pédagogie, cet établissement dont le nom d’usage a été conservé, intègre des salles d’expositions et de spectacles (films, théâtre, concerts…), un lieu de résidences et de formation artistique, un centre de documentation de livres d’art, ainsi qu’un parc de sculptures modernes et contemporaines. La Chapelle a la volonté de faire dialoguer les arts et de les rendre accessibles au plus grand nombre à travers des thèmes transversaux comme l’exposition en cours « Paysages » réunissant photographies, peintures et installations contemporaines, mais aussi des thèmes plus spécifiques permettant de faire découvrir l’œuvre d’un artiste en particulier comme le sculpteur André Barelier récemment ou Joel-Peter Witkin à la rentrée de Septembre. 

 

Joel-Peter Witkin, "Mythologie des dieux et des hommes"
Exposition du 14 septembre 2019 au 2janvier 2020

LA CHAPELLE
Impasse de l’Abbaye
78120 Clairefontaine-en-Yvelines
www.lachapelledeclairefontaine.org

Contact presse : Fabienne Besnard
+33 (01) 42 72 09 10
f.besnard@baudoin-lebon.com